another week flies by

ATELIER PUBLIC 24 Nov 2011

Two weeks in and I think the exhibition has already exceeded my expectations. In some ways I thought it might take shape slowly and I would be able to explore the conversations emerging in the space, this blog and the documentation at leisure. Instead the space is changing rapidly and I find myself looking through what I and the Gallery Assistants have documented and finding new work that I didn’t note in the space. I also feel like I want to spend more and more time there to witness everything… which I know is impossible and in lots of ways I am enjoying the discovery of the changes in the space after a period of absence.

I hoped that people would engage with the materials (with the possibility of being able to explore what was there and leave their own work); that they would be inspired by what others had made and also to inspire those who came into the exhibition after them – and it has been amazing going in and noting what has been happening. The dialogue is starting to emerge in the space through the work being made and I am documenting links between works on the walls, but also how people are responding to and developing work already there. Adults are influencing children and I think children are influencing adults. Below are just a couple of things I have picked up on but there are so many things I can’t do them justice here but you can see more on flickr.

The hulahooping panda version 1

The hulahooping panda version copied from version 1

RUN WITH SCISSORS

RUN WITH SCISSORS

RUN WITH SCISSORS

RUN WITH SCISSORS

ATELIER PUBLIC day 1

ATELIER PUBLIC 17 November

ATELIER PUBLIC Monday 21 nov

ATELIER PUBLIC 24 Nov 2011

There are works that look like people are coming back to develop them more than once, works that have taken time and care to make and there is a lovely humour emerging too using the framing devices that we left in the space – some are creating their own.  There are also some very moving works being left.

It’s not just in the gallery space – at the weekend I found some really interesting questions raised in this blog by Katie Reid. I need to have a bit more of think and devote a post to explore what she raises (not quite got the headspace for that this evening) but I hope that she does come back and hopefully can explore some of those questions.

Some of the artists, makers and thinkers I have invited have been in and responded. But I haven’t been around to see everything they have done so wandering round the exhibition I am intrigued to know how and what they have engaged in. Other people (including artists) have mentioned being in and leaving work as well.

Somebody has also started to play with the text so I am intrigued to see what the next week will bring.

ATELIER PUBLIC 24 Nov 2011

Leave a comment